While providing a recent reading it dawned on me that having the assistance of a psychic medium when conducting genealogical research could be very useful.  Allow me to illustrate.

A few years ago I was asked to connect a person with a long lost family member. The only information I was provided was a request to speak with a Native American as she had heard from another family member that “there was Indian blood in her family.”

Very quickly I established a connection with a gentleman who told me that he was the one we were looking for. He told me that he was Osage and that he had met her ancestor in the late 1700s. He himself was part French and had been unwelcome in his tribe “being a half-breed” and so he had left the tribe and became a traveling “medicine man.” He had partnered up with a Frenchman and they traversed the country selling their potions and elixirs from town to town. It was during one of these travels that he met this woman’s relative and he confessed to not knowing that he had made her pregnant. He also told me that he had been with the woman when she was only 16!

It was following the revelation that the girl was only 16 when she became pregnant that really confirmed the individual was who he claimed to be – and that I had a solid connection with him. The only detail that my client was fully aware of, was that her relative was 16 at the time she became pregnant by the Native American and that he had not been around for the child.

What a great connection … they communicated a bit more and than the reading was done. Recently I solved another family mystery. A woman who I had read for several times had requested a fourth reading. Over the course of the past few years she had asked me to connect her with one of her guides, or anyone else in spirit who had a message for her. Each time I gave her a reading, I saw the same individual coming through. He had sandy blonde hair with red highlights, and among other things always was dressed in a plaid shirt. He was fit with a muscular build and and handsome features. She had no idea who he was. He would tell her that he was related to her, but that she did not know him.

During this most recent connection with the “mystery man” the woman who I was reading for, made an ultimatum. She said that unless he revealed his relationship to her, that she would ignore him and have nothing to do with him. He pleaded that it was best if she just accepted his terms and she stood her ground. He then revealed his true identity and relationship to her. He was her real grandfather, her grandmother had an affair, became pregnant and passed off the resulting child as being one of her husbands. Now it became very clear why he had such an interest in her welfare and why he was being so secretive as to his identity. The story he told was quite scandalous, yet fit as the woman remembered that her grandparents relationship had been difficult and fairly loveless, not hard to imagine her grandmother seeking comfort in the arms of another man and then hiding the true identity of the child’ father.

Once I had one of my own relatives come through and apologize for the behavior of another family member. It was not until I reviewed a copy of my family tree that I saw the name of the person who had come through to me. She gave me her name and said that she was to blame in part for the way that one of the men in our family had treated his own family. She gave me the name of the kid she was referring to, which I recognized as being a relative of mine, however I did not recognize her name. It turned out that she was the mother of the family member she was apologizing for, no wonder she felt partly responsible.

All of this has led me to believe that when used properly, a good psychic medium can become an invaluable resource when researching ones family tree. When you really think about it, it’s incredible … the ability to connect with long lost relatives, discover true causes of death, unravel family mysteries and unearth “skeletons” in the closet. I can imagine that this would be useful for those who are adopted and for those who have lost all family records.  It is of course important to note that in some cases it may not be a good idea to connect with “long lost” relatives, though I believe in the majority of cases, it would be wonderful to be able to make such connections.

If you wish to learn more about Charles Peden visit www.charlespeden.com.

