As I am not an animal nor am I deceased I can only provide information about the other side and what it is like for our animal companions once they have physically passed, based upon my own experiences garnered through countless readings and my experiences with my own animals.

One constant that seems to remain unchanged is that our animals and our human loved ones reside in a space where they are able to interact with each other and simultaneously are capable of observing us.

The best way to describe the other side “heaven” or “across the rainbow bridge” is to imagine it as a parallel universe, one without “life” and “death” as we know it. It seems to be a more emotion driven world and less of a physically driven world.

While it may seem far off, it really appears to be right here, just vibrating at a different frequency.

One of the biggest challenges in describing the other side is that few if any have survived a trip over there and then returned to tell about it while physically present and how are we to really know if the individual is simply describing the other side or the edge of it. Kind of like describing a house after only entering the garage.

Often times I liken it to describing color to a blind individual who has never had the gift of sight, how would one describe a landscape to them with no real reference point.

In the interest of keeping this as factual as possible I will simply relate what I know to be true and accurate. I will leave the painting of the canvas to someone else and will focus on what I do know about the canvas it’s self.

When I first discovered my gifts as a psychic medium one of the first things that became clear to me was that while looking to connect with the spirits of departed family members, animals would frequently come through. I would not ask for them to come through, I was not trying to connect with animals in spirit, but frequently when connecting with a departed grandparent, parent or loved one, an animal would jump into the conversation.

It was not just a reference to an animal and a person in spirit showing me an animal connected to them, but rather another spirit – that of the departed animal. I clearly recall the first animal that I had come through during a reading. I was working in Benicia at a metaphysical book and gift store when two sisters came in for a reading. They elected to have their readings done separately and when I went to connect with the request the first woman had I saw a large black dog. I described the animal that I saw and the woman got excited, stood up and called her sister over saying that Shadow (a black lab who had passed a few years prior was coming through for her) the womans sister came over, sat down and I proceeded to channel my first departed animal.

For the next several months I would connect with animals that had deceased on a regular basis and then after seven months of providing readings I discovered that living animals can communicate telepathically as well, but that is another story.

Now days I frequently warn people that they should not be surprised if any and all animals that they are or have been connected to may attempt to connect during a reading.

This morning while chatting with a dog who is living I had another dog enter the conversation, a deceased dog, however they really do not feel any different from the living, unless they specifically tell me that they have passed and or I am shown what happened to them.

Imagine if you will that you are on your cell phone driving your car and you represent your spirit while the car represents your body, when you exit your vehicle and continue the conversation on your cell phone, you do not sound or feel any different, after all you are not your car anymore than we are our bodies.

Animals that have deceased are able to interact with our other animals who are deceased as well as our human loved ones in spirit. It does not matter if they never met in person. For example your grandfather who passed thirty years prior can interact with a dog who he never met in person and who has only been passed for a limited time.

Animals that remain with us physically are able to see and interact with those who have passed, however they will still mourn the loss of the physical presence even though they can connect with the departed animals spirit.

One of my favorite examples of this took place in Florida. I was in Vero Beach and while at a polo club and horse boarding facility I was asked to communicate with one of the horses. The question his person posed was “do you miss Cooper?” Having no idea who Cooper was I turned to the horse and asked him if he missed Cooper, he replied “no.” The woman seemed surprised and asked me how was it possible that he did not miss Cooper? Having no idea who Cooper was, I asked the horse to tell me who Cooper was and why he did not miss him – I thought he might be a trainer or something. The horse replied that Cooper was another horse who was four years old last year when he had passed due to cancer, and he remarked that since his passing he has not left my stall, so how can I miss him? To which the woman expressed surprise and delight that I was getting so much detail and she confirmed the answer.

Some of the most common questions I am asked are as follows:

Can my animals who are still here see my animals that have passed?

The answer is: Yes

Can my animal come back to me through reincarnation and spend another life with me?

Usually the answer is no, it seems that our past loved ones wish to remain in spirit until we are able to join them. This allows everything to come full circle so that closure may be had by all parties involved. In addition it seems that animals suffer from the same problem that we do with regard to recollection of past lives and therefore coming back to you would seem like a fresh start to them with little if any connection with the fact that they had recently spent a life with us.

Many times our past animals will however influence the behaviors of our new animals or ones that they left behind and we may catch little bits of their personality coming through in that fashion, similar to me channeling someone and using language and body language that they used to exhibit. In other words, it is possible for a new animal to channel the behaviors of an animal that has passed.

Frequently I am asked if the animals that have passed will be jealous of any new animals that are brought into the household.

What I hear is that your departed animals are happy when you are happy, and they do not want to deny another animal from the joy of living with you. This is especially true with animals that were adopted from shelters and rescued from bad situations.

Animals that have passed are capable of seeing, hearing and feeling anything and everything that we go through. One exercise that helps to confirm this is the following.

Go to a specific location or focus on a particular object and while focused on this object or activity, have a conversation with your animal that has passed. Ask for them to come to you and that you wish to tell them how much you love them … simply chat with them as though they were standing right in front of you.

Afterwords, contact myself or another reputable animal communicator and ask the communicator the following:

Recently I had a conversation with an animal of mine who has passed. I was at a specific location and focused on a particular object or activity while engaged in speaking to the spirit of my departed animal. To confirm that my animal heard me and was present, can you tell me where I was, what I was focused on and or what I was doing?

This is a powerful confirmation that our departed animals remain connected to us and aware of what we are doing and saying to them.

For example:

A gentleman recently took my advice and after our first reading (where I made contact with a departed dog) he went off some place and while engaged in a particular activity he spoke to his departed animal.

After a few days the gentleman contacted me and asked me where was he when he had spoken to the spirit of his departed animal and what was he doing?

The dog showed me a park like setting, a natural park, not a city park with landscaping that was directed by man but rather one that was allowed to be fairly natural. Then I saw the gentleman snapping pictures with his camera, and what really caught my eye was that he was photographing the clouds.

When I described the above to the gentleman he immediately teared up, as that was the confirmation that he was seeking. He had gone to a nearby nature preserve and while there he had been photographing the clouds while chatting with the spirit of his recently departed dog.

I am frequently asked “does my animal still hurt?” and as they leave the physical body behind, the spirit is pain-free. However they can experience emotional pain/ache and the more at peace we are with their passing the easier it is for them to be around us in spirit.

On the rare occasion that our actions result in the premature passing of an animal it is important to remember that it is the intent of our actions more than the outcome that matters.

For example:

You are worried about your animals health and take them into the vet, while there the vet tells you that your animal needs to have surgery. You authorize the surgery and then the unthinkable happens – your animal dies during the procedure.

Your animal will not hold that against you as you were acting in good faith and you were doing what you thought was the right thing to extend their life. The same goes for any accidents, giving the wrong medications, etc., what is truly important is what the intent was.

Sometimes people ask me if their moving away from the home that the animal was familiar with will cause them to stay behind in the old home or will they get lost trying to find my new home?

Once an animal passes they are as mobile as they wish to be and can cover vast distances with little or no effort. Connecting with you and should you have moved since their passing, your new home is not a challenge to them. They will not stay behind and haunt your old home.

 One difficult subject for many is knowing when the right time is to say goodbye to a loved one whose health is failing them.

My rule of thumb is as follows; if this animal were in the wild and with its own kind, would they be able to provide food, shelter and defend themselves as well as keeping up with the movements of their pack or chasing down their prey? If the answer is no, it is time to take a serious look at the reasons for continuing their physical life.

Animals do not fear death, they fear pain and suffering.

I welcome any and all questions on this subject and will do my very best to clarify and or answer any additional questions regarding animals that have passed and what it is like for them.

For more information about the author of this blog posting visit http://www.charlespeden.com/.

