Skull found after asking for a sign.

Skull found after asking for a sign.

During the early part of my awakening I was torn between continuing to dedicate all of my energy towards my “day job” or if I was meant to work with spirit. One day while kayaking I was meditating on my dilemma and asked for a sign. I made a formal request that a sign be shown to me. I lay back on my kayak and allowed the currents to carry me. After some time I drifted near shore and pulled my kayak up onto the bank of the strait I was kayaking in.

For a “day job” I collect sea glass and sell it all over the world, http://www.bythebaytreasures.com. Kayaking for me is part of “work” and it is one of the ways that I access difficult to access beaches so that I may find the really good stuff. As I pulled my kayak up onto the shoreline and set it down I noticed a skull sitting amongst the rocks along the high tide line. It was fired clay, handmade and looked as though it could have been a gear shift on a muscle car, though it had no threads etc., I picked it up and brought it home. To me it really was a very clear sign that I was supposed to work with the spirits of those who are no longer with us.

Purple Martin

Purple Martin

On another occasion I was in the middle of performing a reading when the person I was doing the reading for asked me if her father was trying to connect with her. He had passed several years prior and she wanted to see a sign that he was watching out for her from the other side. I then asked her about three different types of birds. She said that she had seen them over the past several months. I then asked if her father was a bird watcher and she said “no” she was the bird watcher. Then I had to tell her about a little thing that happened just before the reading.

I had gone to the corner store and while walking on the sidewalk on my return to my home, I saw a little bird. The bird, a Martin, flew up in the air and then landed about eight feet ahead of me on the sidewalk. He would stand there looking at me and not moving as I approached him, just as I was almost upon him, he would jump up in the air and fly another eight feet out in front of me and land on the sidewalk again. He did this three times, the last time he stood his ground as I came within a foot of him and as I passed him I looked back and asked him if he wanted something from me. He told me that he had already delivered the message, thinking it was odd, but not too weird I continued home and then began the reading.

After sharing the story about the Martin the woman exclaimed that it must have been a sign since her father was from Martinsville. Sure enough he had employed a Martin to let her know that he was watching out for her. So now when she is bird watching and witnesses an odd behaviour, she knows that the odds are that her father is sending her a message that he is there and watching over her.

Signs come in many forms, and sometimes they are quite obscure. In order to make sense of them, sometimes it is helpful to inform the spirit whom you wish to receive a sign from, how you would like to get a sign from them, that way there is less guess work involved and it makes it easier for both parties involved.

