Spirit guides, are a source of much confusion and there are several myths about them. I have found the following to be true as a result of my own personal experiences. Spirit guides are very real, just as real as you and I. They can come and go throughout our lives. Some are ones that we know through past lives, others we know from this life and they have passed before us, while some we only know from our time on the other side. Spirit guides can be personalized, as in we may request specific guides to come in and assist us with special projects etc., within our lives. For example, if you wished to become a better artist and you really admired a particular painter who had passed, it is possible that he may come to you in spirit and influence and inspire your work.

When I was in the process of awakening to my abilities, one of my primary guides came in and introduced himself. He made it very clear as to who he was/is and why he was working with me. They actually “talk” to me and I can understand them as if they were speaking in plain English to me. Case in point … I had been trying to stop by this building in our town that was rumored to be haunted. Still in the early stages of my awakening I wanted to see what other spirits felt like and not just the ghost in our home, I wanted to see if I could tell the ghosts apart just based upon the feeling I felt in their presence.

Each time I had stopped by the building was closed and locked up. One day while leaving the Post Office I was driving in front of the Police Station and got in the left hand turn lane, I heard a very clear voice tell me to turn right. Now, it’s against the law to do so and I was in front of the police station … again the voice said to turn right. I voiced my concern about the law and was told that I would be fine. I quickly turned right and proceeded in the direction of the building that had been closed each time I had tried to stop by. This time the doors were wide open.

I parked and went inside. While in there I met several ghosts and one of the caretakers. They gave me a tour of the building, while in the basement I asked what the smoke smell was. The caretaker did not smell anything and told me there was no odor of smoke. I still could smell it, so strongly that I felt that I would have to change my clothes before walking into my home. Then the caretaker informed me that back in 1912 the place had nearly burned to the ground. That explained the smell of the smoke.

Buddy Rich

Buddy Rich

Thanks to my spirit guide telling me to turn right I had quite the experience. Another time I was at my folks, they have a recording studio and I was sitting at the drums. I enjoy playing, but I have never had any lessons. I wanted to pick up some pointers and asked my step father who he thought was a good drummer who had passed. He named several names, most I did not recognize. I placed a call out to them and asked one of them to please give me a lesson. After a few moments I felt a spirit come into the room and then I picked up the drum sticks. I held them differently then I usually do and started to bang out a beat that was new to me. My step dad poked his head in and told me that I sounded just like one of the drummers whose names he had given me to call upon.

James Dean

James Dean

In another case, I was relaxing in my home one afternoon when at the end of my dining table I saw a gentleman with a motorcycle. He was wearing a leather jacket, not a biker style but more like James Dean. He had a helmet under his arm and an Indian motorcycle. I asked him who he was and he said that he knew my mom. I asked how and he said that he went to college with her. Later that day I related the story about the person who had stopped by with his motorcycle, claiming to know her. After a few seconds it dawned on her who he was, but she wanted to know why was he stopping by? He told me that he was one of her guides. I relayed the message and then my mom confessed that three days prior she had asked to be introduced to her guides. It turned out that he gave her a tour of the east coast on the back of his motorcycle and acted as a guide in “real” life for her and was continuing to do so from the other side.

It’s important to remember that guides are in most cases simply spirits on the other side who have the ability to see the forest while we are are often times stuck in the trees. They will not meddle, and if you ignore them long enough they will stop trying to get through to you as much, but if you invite their help and create a relationship with them, they can help you greatly. They are not here to do the work for you, but to simply show you how to work smarter and not harder.

Native American

Native American

Something I have been told by several guides is that they assist more then one individual here on earth. Many times guides will work together, just as there are many ways that we make friends here and there are many types of friends, the same can be said of guides. Native Americans often times are guides simply because we have been conditioned to believe that the Native Americans were very spiritual people, even if we ourselves do not have any of their blood running through our veins, it makes no difference for they are here to assist in bringing about the greater good.

It is silly for people to get caught up in the number of guides they have etc., as that number changes as conditions in our life change. Guides are essentially teachers and once they are done with teaching you their lesson and you have taken what you can from them, they may move on, only to be replaced by another guide.

There are many excellent guided meditations out there to assist you with connecting to your own guides and you can also see a medium in order to meet them. It’s true that unless you are already able to fully communicate with spirit that it is a good idea to have your guide/s described by more then one medium, though they may describe different ones depending upon the circumstances in your life at that moment. One subject I did not get into with relation to guides is animal guides. We all have animal guides that assist us too, I will discuss them more at length in another posting.

