Recently I was enjoying some down time and found myself online playing a game called “Farm Town”. Farm Town is a game that you can find on Facebook. The game is pretty simple, you start out with a small plot of virtual land and plant some crops. At first you are limited in what you can plant as you ascend levels (by earning experience points) you are able to purchase bigger and better plants, buildings, fences, flowers, trees, seeds and animals.

I started playing the game to take a break from “reality” and to have some fun. Very quickly I realized that I could use it as a visualization exercise. That is … as I grew my farm, purchased additional land and added out buildings, landscaping and so forth .. that this could represent what I would someday like to own – perhaps a vineyard. One of the ways of earning “money” in the game, is through “working” other peoples farms. This involves going to the “Marketplace” and trying to get someone to hire you to harvest and or plow their farm for them. When you harvest you get a fraction of the crops value in payment and when you plow you get experience points and a little bit of coin.

The process of harvesting is pretty simple, it involves taking the mouse and placing your little sickle icon over the little square that represents the crop that you are harvesting, it could be a picture of a roughly three foot by three foot bed of pineapples, carrots, peppers or some other crop. After you click on it, the image is replaced with one of a “harvested field”. During your work at another farm, you may end up clicking on hundreds of these little crop squares in order to harvest and then going back over them again to plow … this time with a different icon (a plow) and changing the image to that of a freshly plowed piece of farmland.

While I was “working” on a strangers farm, I had a gray cat come and see me. I had just finished up with a field of cotton or something like that … perhaps it was blueberries, they all blend together after awhile, harvesting and plowing can become mind numbing work … (even in a virtual world) and this sets my mind off into a meditative state quite quickly. So back to the gray cat … as I am working this farm, I keep getting prodded to say something to the farm owner. So I open up the chat box and ask them if they had any animals.

The farmer replied that she did, and mentioned the ones I could see on her virtual farm. I then told her that I was talking about real life animals, and she said yes, she had some. She then remarked that it was an odd question, and that her password was not any of their names. I told her that I did not care about that, but wanted to know if she had a gray cat. She said no. I then asked her if she had ever had any gray animals and she said that she had a gray cat that had gone missing nine months prior. I asked for the cats name and when she gave it to me, I got an instant confirmation that the animal that was connecting with me was her missing cat.

At that point I went on to describe the cats features in greater detail and provided them an opportunity to obtain some closure. Happily the cat had been adopted by a new family and was content while the person who had lost the cat had gone out soon after and adopted a kitten. Both parties were happy and now they have closure.

The very next day a mule connected with me while I was harvesting at someone else’s farm. She made her presence known to me and after I asked about her, she showed me the red/pink ribbon that was on her halter to help cement that I was connected to her. In this case there was an issue with being ridden by others other than the primary human in this mules life. She also complained that the horses made fun of her because ever time someone got her to ride instead of one of the horses, they would complain that they were on a mule and not a horse. She got tired of being trashed talked and went on strike and refused to be ridden by anyone other than the human that loved her, her “owner”. The mule also mentioned that she missed living with other mules, like the farm that she had lived at previously.

A few days after the two above “random” communications, I was yet again connecting with another “random” animal on some strangers farm that I was harvesting at. (Careful, Farm Town can get addicting!) This time when I gently broached the subject of animal communication with the benign question “If you could talk with your animals, who would you chat with and what would you ask them?” I was met with, “I don’t know.” and not much else. Even after some gentle nudging they could not think of anything to ask … so, should you find yourself suddenly presented the opportunity to actually connect with one of your present or past animal companions at a very detailed level, here are a few suggestions.

One of the first things I will ask after establish a connection with an animal, is “What do you want to say? do you have something you want to start with?” I am not asking the human, but rather the animal, if the animal wants you to lead the conversation or start it, it is helpful to have an idea of what to say. There is nothing worse than simply saying that you have no idea … this implies that you don’t really care about them. Consider the following example.

Ten years previously you met a lovely companion, the two of you moved in with no dating and are nearly joined at the hip for the next decade. Your companion is with you through thick and thin, the good times and the bad. They see a side of you that you will not even allow your other friends to see and when presented with the opportunity to finally be able to have a detailed two way conversation with them – you had nothing to say … it would be devastating.

On to the questions or conversation starters for you favorite animal companion …

1.) How is your health, is there anything I should be aware of? And if so … what can be done to help you with it?

Bear in mind that though I am not a doctor, I can communicate with your animal and ask them if they have any medical issues that need to be addressed. Just like with yourself, you sometimes know exactly what the problem is … (a broken bone) or you may have no idea other than you have a pain in your chest and can’t breathe very well. Animals are similar, and sometimes they will shield us from the “ugly truth” so as to spare us having to see them suffer. In many cases I am able to connect with you animal companion/pet and if nothing else, point you in the direction of the right tests and or procedures to suggest to your licensed and trained veterinarian.

2.) How is your diet? Any special requests?

Many times you will find that your animal is perfectly fine with their food, others are unhappy due to either a miscommunication and misunderstanding or simply not knowing. One of my favorites was in the case of a dog who had a sensitive digestive system. The dog had been offered two homemade foods, neither of which the human “owner” had told us prior to the dog discussing it with us. It started out as a medical/health related question and pretty soon the dog revealed that when offered the brown rice dish that he found it to be unappetizing and frankly disappointing, in fact he barely touched it. Other the other hand, he had also been offered an oatmeal based homemade food that he found very tasty, in fact he liked it so much, that he woofed it down, he also ate too much as they had given him a large portion and poor stomach rebelled and he vomited almost as soon as he ate it. His “owners” figured that the oatmeal food had made him sicker and never gave it to him again, much to the dogs dismay. So … now thankfully since having an opportunity to really communicate his food preferences, things have gotten a little tastier around his house.

3.) Are you happy? is there anything that we could be doing for you that we are not already doing?

This is pretty straight forward, many times people will find themselves surprised by their “pets” response to the above question. In one case, I had a woman with three dogs, two of the dogs were medium sized breeds while one was a lap dog. The lap dog was as happy as could be. The two larger dogs told me that they were left out of many of the outings and then proceeded to describe the lake that the lap dog went to frequently, but that they were not permitted to go to. The “owner” was surprised to learn that her other dogs even knew about the place. Now that she understands that her other dogs were behaving poorly due to their being jealous of her lap dog and where that dog was allowed to go in comparison to her other dogs, she can rectify the situation.

4.) What is a favorite memory of our time together that you would like to share?

This one cat told me that his favorite memory was reuniting with his person … after a trip where they went east. I asked if she (the cat’s person) had gone back east, she said no. I then persisted and she confessed that they had a layover in New York on her flight to Africa, and that after spending time in quarantine her cat was finally able to reunite with her. She was staying with her folks in South Africa and the cat remarked that the bugs there were outstanding and that he loved the large yard that he played at at his persons parents house.

5.) Anything that you would ask a person, you can ask an animal … within reason of course. 🙂 Just like humans, just because you can talk with them … it does not guarantee that they will reciprocate or that they will even listen, sort of like some teenagers or children I know.

If you would like to schedule a reading to connect with the animals in your life, either past or present, visit www.charlespeden.com.

In some cases I actually hear words “audibly” but in most cases I see pictures or simply “know”. Today while doing a reading I simply dropped the middle name of one of the animals whom I was speaking with. I honestly do not know the exact way I came across her name, it just rolled off my tongue.  Many times I hear voices in my head, kind of like I am thinking something, but not my thoughts. Read my latest posting for more about how I receive information.

