It is very important that I make it clear that I did not actively seek out nor try to develop any kind of psychic or intuitive abilities prior to utilizing them. I was born with them and between the ages of five to seven I suppressed them due to getting in trouble for “making stuff up” and “lying” to others. I would claim to see things that people such as my parents did not see and I was then punished for it, thus suppressing all of my abilities, going through a difficult childhood that was impossible to understand and going through the majority of my adult life with no belief nor interest in anything that dealt with the supernatural, abilities to communicate with the dead and or animals, plants and more … that just did not mesh with societies view of reality which I now embraced having forgotten my early childhood.

For myself, my awareness of my abilities did not develop until after a ghost appeared in our home and walked right through me. The ghost triggered or sparked a rapid unfolding of my abilities. The very first time I saw her I could make out all the details of her physical form, I could “hear” her and felt her emotional state as she passed through my body. It was as if she had jump started my dormant abilities. It felt like going from zero to sixty very rapidly. After having the ghost walk through me on January 24th of 2006, I found myself chatting up other ghosts in the area. I remember how excited I was to go to a historical location nearby and discover another spirits presence, just like the one that was now residing with us at our home. Soon I discovered I could communicate with those who had crossed over, I channeled a conversation with my wife’s grandfather who had died many years prior, I never met him and she had told me little if anything about him. The fifteen or so personal details that came through were all verified including one that required a call back east to her grandma.

Early on one of my primary spirit guides made himself known to me and that relationship has developed nicely over time with him providing much in the way of insight and advice. After becoming aware of my abilities I was discouraged by my guides to read much in the way of how to develop my abilities, they told me that they were in a better position to teach me how to communicate with that side than someone on this side. For example … there was this recipe for meat loaf that was handed down through the generations and while the daughter was watching her mother make it, she asked “why do you cut the ends off?” her mother replied that she had no idea, but that was how her mother did it and so that is why she did it that way. A few weeks later the daughter was at her grandmothers and asked her why she cut the ends of the meatloaf and grandmother said that it was because her baking dish was too small for the recipe and rather than reduce the recipe, she found it easier to simply cut off a little bit of the ends of the meatloaf prior to sticking it in the cooking dish.

So … back to learning how to use these abilities, (which we all have to some degree, but most of us have suppressed) one perfect example of why working with my guides to develop my abilities was so useful is that unlike the vast majority of animal communicators I do not require a photo to connect nor a description. The reasoning essentially is that animals communicate telepathically, monitor their humans pretty much 24/7 and when you are speaking with someone capable of telepathic communication with them, they will know it and engage in conversation, should they choose to. So if you can communicate telepathically with an animal it would stand to reason that the animal could describe their physical features to you, hence … why use a photo?

One of the best things my guides did for me was to create simulations within the dream world that allowed me to practice using my abilities and working through various scenarios and difficult situations. These dreams would usually happen right before a real world example of the issue would arise during a reading or in the course of “normal” life. This process of training and learning in my dreams really was helpful and aided me in grasping a greater understanding of my abilities.

In order to develop your own abilities I would suggest that the first thing you do is to establish your intent. As we are not working with the physical world, many of the techniques involve the use of the mind or thoughts as opposed to physical actions. However, before declaring your intent to develop your abilities I would like to address a few issues.

Opening up your abilities is not for everyone, before you put forth your intent to develop your abilities, think very carefully about what you are looking to do, by opening up in this fashion you run the risk of dealing with unsettled and angry earthbound spirits, any of your family members who have passed and whom you did not get along with … animals that you have known in the past may come to you. You will discover that privacy as we think it exists is truly a joke and does not exist at all. If I had a dollar for every surprise visitor to our home, I would be a millionaire, or close to it by now. If a particular event has captured the worlds attention, you may feel a pull to be drawn to the story and you may feel compelled to obsess over it until a resolution has been brought forth.  While driving down the highway you may suddenly flash upon the scene of an accident where lives were lost, and then when you look back it will be gone, though the victims may be in your car, (in spirit form yet displaying their wounds). Many of the “problems” that come with opening up to your psychic and intuitive abilities can be mitigated through the use of effective protection techniques and the development of relationships with spirit guides, and guardians.

So … you still want to develop your abilities … read on. Declaring your intent to develop your abilities will assist you in aligning your energies in that direction and in assembling a team of guides on the other side with the intent of developing your abilities. Simply sit down and write out your intentions, speak the words in your mind, something simple such as “I wish to develop my psychic abilities so that I may communicate more effectively with those in spirit. At this time I am requesting that my spirit guides make themselves known to me and I am asking them to assist in developing my intuitive abilities. Thank you in advance.” Something similar to that will suffice, no need to make it complicated, and remember that when you make requests of your guides and the universe, that you have to be sure to be clear as to what you are asking for as you are usually taken quite literally.

After declaring your intent and requesting your guides to assist you, you can move on to actually working with psychic energies, it should go without saying that it is best to try this in a quiet and meditative places free from outside disturbances. No need to meditate for hours or anything rigorous like that, a few minutes at best is what is needed, though more time may be more beneficial, to a point. We will start with something simple. In order to communicate at this level, you must be able to feel psychic energy … it feels very much like a small amount of adrenaline coursing through your body, like a gentle electrical shock … kind of like the goosebumps feeling but not scary or hair raising. Some people refer to the feeling as waterfalls. This feeling will be used as the basis for our rudimentary telepathic or psychic communication. When you feel the energy, that is a “yes” … when you feel nothing, that is a “no”. The whole process can be likened to binary code, the series of ones and zeros that make up the basic building blocks of all computer/digital communications. Just like with binary code, through this series of simply yes and no responses you can eventually “read” whole blocks of code and make sense of it as opposed to having to only work with ones and zeros. Once that happens the information that you initially were reading only as a simple yes or no may be expanded into full audio with visuals and more … which is where I operate in most of my communications with spirits and animals.

I suggest starting with something simple such as a favorite animal companion, if you do not have your own, see if you can borrow one from a family member or friend. Start out be telling the animal what you are going to be doing. Tell them that you want to chat with them and that you want them to answer your questions with a yes or no response. You do not need to have the animal physically present. You do not need a photo of the animal. You want to start with questions that you already know the answers to, this will establish a baseline for your communications. One great way to do this is to say something such as. “animals name”, are you a cat? and if you feel a gentle electrical discharge or adrenaline burst in your body, that is a yes. Then ask the animal the opposite … are you a dog? and if you get no response … and they are a cat, you can then go back to the question that gave you a yes response and double check it. Ask the animal again, “are you a cat?” and if you once again get the adrenaline burst/electrical discharge, you are well on your way to communicating with animals and spirits. At this point simply proceed to ask several additional questions that you already know the answers to, double checking the responses as you go along and then you may begin the “real” conversation by asking questions that you do not already know the answer to. This technique applies to not just animals, but both ghosts and spirits who have crossed over … and more.

After working with an animal that you know, you may want to branch out and work with a co-workers animal or someone else who has animals that you do not know anything about in advance. If you find someone who has animals and you do not know anything about them, you can use the above techniques to connect with the animal and ask questions about the animals physical appearance. When you can walk up to a stranger, ask the name of their animal at home and then describe that animal to them, it not only proves that you can talk to the animals, it is a lot of fun. When I go out to eat I enjoy playing with the wait staff, it’s fun to ask them the name of a favorite animal at home of theirs as they are taking your order and then describing that animal to them when they bring your food and or drinks out.

To learn more about Psychic Medium, Animal and Life Communicator Charles Peden  visit http://www.charlespeden.com.

