Florida was fun, busy … but enjoyable. The night before leaving Vero Beach I checked on my flight status and even though over 750 flights had been canceled earlier that day … it looked as though my flight was on schedule. I had arranged for a ride to the airport and was on my way by a little after 8:45 that morning. I had a bit of a delay in Orlando when going through airport security … apparently sand in a zip lock baggie raises eyebrows. After security checked to make sure that the sand was not from Columbia … I was allowed to pass through security.

Chicago Skyline

Orlando has a large airport and while there I checked out the shops. In one of the shops I purchased several t-shirts with Orlando themes for the girls back home. After boarding my flight to Chicago, the captain of the flight announced over the intercom that we were going to be expecting a rough flight and that due to a very active jet stream sweeping across the country, that we would be flying lower than normal. As it turned out our pilot was outstanding and the turbulence was kept to a minimum. During the flight we watched “The Invention of Lying” and after the movie was over I turned to the passenger sitting next to me and told him that I did what Ricky claimed to do in the movie … talk to people about the afterlife and communicate with the other side. The rest of the flight went by very quickly as we chatted about my abilities.

It had stopped snowing for several hours by the time we got in to Chicago and my flight landed on time and with no bumps or bruises. At the baggage claim I had to wait for quite some time before my bags began to arrive from my flight and after finally recovering my bags, I was met by a limo and my contact in Chicago. I am pretty sure that our limo driver had never heard a conversation quite like the one that my contact and I, on the ride to where I was staying, engaged in. After arriving at the home I would be staying at for the next several days, I “checked in” and then we went out for dinner.

Italian food is one of my weaknesses, I enjoy good ravioli, gnocchi and just about anything that comes out of an Italian kitchen (provided that it is vegetarian.) I have a few things to say when it comes to food. The first is that when busy I will simply eat anything fast and hopefully healthy … I drink protein drinks like Odowalla and eat things that are convenient. If I will be on camera or working with the public I am careful to avoid foods that get stuck in your teeth and or which might become part of your wardrobe. On the other hand I also love food and fine dining along with a quality glass of wine. Sometimes meals should be an event, not simply a refueling pit stop but rather a destination where the process of refueling is just as important as being recharged. I ordered the three cheese raviolis and a plate of gnocchi which we split as well as a salad. As I was enjoying my food and my glass of vino, I could not help but overhear the conversation taking place in the booth next to ours.

A family was eating next to us and the grandfather was telling his grandchildren how several rock stars had died via drugs … alcohol and through other means such as plane crashes. At one point I tapped the woman whose father was telling his grandkids about these musicians who had passed and I tapped her on the shoulder and quietly mentioned to her that should she ever want to contact the people her father was talking about … that I could do it. I passed my card to her and when she tried to give it back I simply let her keep it and then went back to my dinner. I also had fun with the waiters. I had been ribbing one about how I was from California and the day I fly into Chicago they had an early morning earthquake.

Old man from "UP"At one point, one of the waiters asked what I was doing, was I flying for business or pleasure. I told him that I was on business. He made the mistake of asking what type of business and then I told him that I spoke to the dead and to both living and deceased animals. He thought I was joking or that I worked with the coroners office. I offered my card and he seemed both taken aback and a bit frightened … perhaps he had something to hide.
The Farside Cartoon

One sight that will never leave me is the caricatures that were sitting not too far away from us. A few tables over there was an older woman who had her white hair up in a bun and had on a garish purple and red outfit with pearls, she had on granny glasses, was a bit overweight and hunched over a bit. She looked just like the lady in the “Far side” cartoons. Her husband was incredible … he looked just like the old man character in “Up.” I tried to snap a photo, but the lighting was poor and I did not want to violate their privacy. After dinner we returned to the home I was staying at and I settled in for my first night in Chicago.

The next morning I awoke to a brilliant sun beaming down on the fresh snow … a beautiful sight, one to enjoy briefly and then return to warmer climes. After a bowl of cereal and a cup of coffee, we headed out to my first appointment. It was an in person reading with three cats for one of my contacts clients. One of the questions was regarding the problem that one of the cats was having with his nerves. This poor cat was scared silly by just about anything. As I chatted with the cat, he told me how sensitive his hearing was. He told me that he missed his old home where it was quiet. The cat then showed me the sound of large dumpsters being emptied into a garbage truck and the huge boom of the dumpsters being dropped back on the ground after being emptied. As it turns out this is a thing that they deal with every morning and the cats food dishes are near the window that is right over the alley where the dumpsters are. We agreed to move the food dishes to a quieter location and to avoid moving too quickly through the home, the man of the house frightened the cat with his big strides and fast movements, the cat did not want to get crushed under foot.

After the reading was over we went on to the next in person private reading which was located at a home furnishings boutique. During the reading the owner asked to connect with one of her former employees. The woman came through and began talking to me about a crystal lamp. It was a Tiffany lamp that she owned and that the owner had put up for sale, the woman said that if the owner liked her so much, that she should keep the lamp and not sell it as it was her last physical connection with her. Several other spirits came through and afterwards I selected a sculpture that I liked to bring home for my wife, Heidi.

After the two readings in the morning we stopped in at Whole Foods and I made a discovery http://www.vosgeschocolate.com/ a chocolate bar with chilies and cinnamon infused into

Vosges Chocolate

it along with several other gourmet chocolate bars with rare and exotic flavors caught my attention and I picked them up. We returned home and after eating lunch I did several additional readings on the phone. After my readings on the phone were completed we went back out and I did another private in home reading. During the reading I was working with relationship issues and I kept telling the woman that she had to remember that she was not alone and that her ancestors were there for her. After the time ran out, I got up to go when the spirit of her grandmother came up to me and tapped me very hard on the shoulder. I then asked the spirit coming through as to how they knew the woman who I was with. The spirit told me that she was a female, older, and that she was on the woman’s father’s side and that she was her grandmother. The woman confirmed that it was her grandmother coming through. A few more details were added to remind her that she was with her and not to be distraught.

That evening we had a dinner party near downtown Chicago scheduled. It was at my hosts daughters place that she was sharing with several college flat-mates. I drove into the city and was treated to gridlock traffic on the way in, once arriving I found a nice parking spot in snow several inches deep on the side of the street. I did discover a love of heated seats in vehicles while in Chicago and I also found gloves to be indispensable. We went up stairs and found the place to be spacious and rather nice … if you were a college student. There were several house-mates and a few friends present and after we had opened up some wine we started to chat a bit. After a bit I was asked if I could chat with the animals that were present. There were two reptiles in the flat, a Bearded Dragon and a Rainbow Boa.

With no prior knowledge of the animals and having never studied either species I walked over to the tellurium that the Bearded Dragon was in I asked if she was male or female, and she said “female.” I then asked how old she was, she told me “five.” I turned and told the reptiles person that she was definitely a girl and that she was five years old. After everyone had retrieved their jaws from the floor, I continued to converse with the Bearded Dragon. After an in depth conversation, I moved on to the Rainbow Boa.

The next day I was scheduled to appear at a local bar and grill that also had live music and other acts, for private readings in the evening. I ended up sleeping in and getting some much needed rest after having had almost no down time since my journey had begun. Prior to getting ready for the evening I sat down to watch some music videos via Comcast On Demand. The video I was looking for was the Black Eyed Peas, “I Got a Feeling.” After watching it I was drawn to a Tupac video and was told that I should watch it. I then connected with Tupac and was not entirely sure why he had come by. I have met his spirit several times and this time he simply said that I would know why he came by … later.

After watching the music videos, I dressed for the evening. As I was going to be “entertaining” this evening, I got dressed up with a fedora, black wool coat, black dress pants and black leather gloves with a black vest, purple shirt and black tie. I also had a black and white scarf and black leather shoes. Feeling as sharp as a Chicago “Wiseguy” and ready to “entertain” we headed out for the evening’s activities. Just prior to leaving though I thought about lightening my wallet. I had five $100 bills on me and thought that if the unthinkable happened, and someone tried to mug me, that if I left my larger bills at the place I was staying, that it would be safer. I had no intention of spending them and had no reason to carry them. For some reason though … I left them in my wallet as I felt that I had to carry them with me.

After arriving at our location we parked and went in early to enjoy a bit of dinner prior to the evening getting underway. I saw the signup sheet and was surprised to see that the six or so individuals who had signed up in advance all had their names crossed off. We met the owner and he informed us that everyone who had signed up in advance, had canceled one by one over the course of the last few days. Since I did not “need” to “work” I figured I would sit down and simply enjoy the evening. As it turned out it was a few spirits who were associated with the owner of the place who had prompted the clearing of the sign up sheet. With all the cancelations I was able to spend the evening with the owners of the place and it was most enjoyable.

While enjoying a glass of wine and a plate of raviolis, I fielded their questions, shared stories and insights and channeled various loved ones. At one point the owners wife shared a story regarding her mother. Her friends mother had made a deal with her daughter that she would show her dimes after she passed. Upon hearing this, the woman decided that she would do a bit better with her mother and so prior to her mothers passing, she requested $100 dollar bills, since if dimes were possible, why not c-notes? She told me that while cleaning out her mothers dresser she found a one hundred dollar bill, another one arrived in the mail from a distant relative, who sends cash in the mail these days? and $100 dollar bills, not often. So she asks me, “Why doesn’t she send me more if those two were from her?” I replied that it was simply due to the law of “supply and demand.”

Before I could move on to another topic I was told to open up my wallet and pull out the $100 dollar bills in my pocket. Her mothers spirit asked me to toss them on the table in front of her daughter. I dropped them in front of her, I told her that she could look at them, but not have them. After she chuckled and told me that was “just like her mother” I scooped them back up and put them back in my wallet. A bit later a blues band came in and after enjoying them for a few minutes we retired for the evening.

More about my visit to Chicago in upcoming posts …

